Freethinker

Chat about anything your heart desires here, just be civil. Factual or scientific questions about philosophy go here (e.g. "When was Socrates born?"), and so most homework help questions belong here. Note, posts in the off-topic section will not increase new members post counts. This includes the introductions and feedback sections.
Maxcady10001

Freethinker

Post by Maxcady10001 »

Does anyone still use freethinker to describe themselves? Why isn't it more popular to do so? It seems an impossible term to find fault with, who wouldn't want to be a freethinker?
Sy Borg
Site Admin

Re: Freethinker

Post by Sy Borg »

To what purpose would one label oneself outside of applying for work or relationships?
Maxcady10001

Post by Maxcady10001 »

For the sake of argument.
Sy Borg
Site Admin

Post by Sy Borg »

Hehehe. Okay. I personally don't call myself a philosopher because I have no academic or professional affiliations. So I'm an ex analyst (my last job before retiring) and now basically a free thinker about life, the universe and everything for the sake of curiosity.
Maxcady10001

Post by Maxcady10001 »

After scrolling through posts on forums, calling oneself an atheist, theist, or agnostic, seems to cause trouble. I've even seen people call themselves agnostic atheists to bypass whatever problems come with the atheist label. There are probably a bunch of other labels people go by, but freethinker seems like it would stump anyone trying to pigeon hole a viewpoint. I've personally never heard anyone say they were a freethinker. I have heard of a freethinker's club, but I don't think any of those people took the label on personally.
LuckyR

Post by LuckyR »

In various eras being part of a group or being independent have each been in and out of fashion. Currently being independent is less popular.
"As usual... it depends."
Sy Borg
Site Admin

Post by Sy Borg »