Metaphysical Repression

Use this philosophy forum to discuss and debate general philosophy topics that don't fit into one of the other categories.

This forum is NOT for factual, informational or scientific questions about philosophy (e.g. "What year was Socrates born?"). Those kind of questions can be asked in the off-topic section.
Nick_A

Metaphysical Repression

Post by Nick_A »

Building on the “what does it mean to become human” thread, this rhread focuses on what prevents it. Why do people defend cave life with such a passion? Why the increasing effect of the Woke influence giving the impression that once American values are destroyed, the way is open for social justice?

IMO American and universal metaphysical values are denied by socially encouraged metaphysical repression within media, education, and philosophy. Jacob Needleman describes his experience with metaphysical repression:

https://www.conversations.org/story.php?sid=1
I remember I was a freshman at Harvard, in one of my first philosophy classes there. The professor started by asking—like I do sometimes, like professors do—what do you expect to get out of philosophy? I put up my hand and said, "I want to know why I'm living, why we die. Does God exist? What are we here for?" I went on an on like that, and I could see around me that there was this silence. My throat got dry, and I just felt awful. At first I'd thought that I was going to speak for the whole human race. And the professor, of course, was saying, "Yes. Go on." He knew he had one. Finally I just couldn't go on any more. Then he said, "Yes. But you see, that's not philosophy. If you want to know those things, you have to see a psychiatrist or a priest. This is not philosophy." It was such a shock.