The Concept of Zero

Use this forum to discuss the philosophy of science. Philosophy of science deals with the assumptions, foundations, and implications of science.
Stanley Huang

The Concept of Zero

Post by Stanley Huang »

I heard people saying that the concept of zero comes from India and so as the game chess. But it is not just India that talks about zero, other culture also talks about zero.

When I was a school student, my tutor said to me that zero is an important number. She felt that if there is no zero, then, no other number can be possible.

But what is zero? We often talk about zero, but what is zero?

If I ask you 'what is zero,' maybe you will say: "Zero is just nothing. Or zero is where things are lacking."

But if zero exists, then, is zero an existence on its own or is zero simply just the lacking of things?

Because if zero is where things lacking, then, zero is non existence, but if zero is itself an existing entity, then, zero is an existing thing own its own.

So what is zero?

Perhaps, a person interested in maths will be interested in the question: If zero exists, then, what is it?

Is it an entity own its own, or is it not an entity, showing the absence of things?

And secondly, to me, zero is an indefinite number just like infinity?

Where mathematicians felt that the number zero is just as strange as the number 'infinity.'

Is zero and infinity similar?
Gareth

Re: The Concept of Zero

Post by Gareth »

Within mathmatics zero is a useful tool to balance differing equations in reality however number is something to apply to existing entities so zero is just a method of talking about entities which we do not possess (so "Yes, we have no [zero] bananas")
The difference between Truth and Falsity is not a question of volume.
Stanley Huang

Post by Stanley Huang »

Are you a mathematician?

Because to me, if there is only space, then, to me, that is zero.