Aristotle’s virtue ethics

Discuss morality and ethics in this message board.
Featured Article: Philosophical Analysis of Abortion, The Right to Life, and Murder
Philosopher king
New Trial Member

Aristotle’s virtue ethics

Post by Philosopher king » March 21st, 2018, 7:56 pm

Hello,
I studied philosophy quite a bit as an undergraduate almost twenty years ago. I recently decided to resume studying and practicing philosophy. Currently, I have been reading the Nicomachean Ethics by Aristotle. His central argument seems to be that we need to be taught how to be a good person first. After this, good works will follow naturally. How do you interpret Aristotle and do you agree with him?

Fooloso4

Re: Aristotle’s virtue ethics

Post by Fooloso4 » March 22nd, 2018, 4:52 pm

Philosopher king:
His central argument seems to be that we need to be taught how to be a good person first. After this, good works will follow naturally. How do you interpret Aristotle and do you agree with him?
The development of character is of central importance, but Aristotle’s ethics is not a one size fits all solution. The guiding question is the question of the good life and eudaimonia, often translated as happiness, but flourishing is in some ways closer. The question of the good life cannot be adequately addressed without asking: what is good? We all seek what is good but not everything we seek is good.

Aristotle situates the good life within the life of the city. And so, it would be a mistake to assume that by seeking what is good for me I ignore what is good for you. Although we are different there is still commonality. We desire good health, food, shelter, and peace, for example.

Another important term for Aristotle is phronesis, often translated as practical wisdom as well as prudence: