Would you kill a human with no conscience to save one with?

Discuss morality and ethics in this message board.
Featured Article: Philosophical Analysis of Abortion, The Right to Life, and Murder
Tazo
New Trial Member

Would you kill a human with no conscience to save one with?

Post by Tazo »

This is a very theoretical question based entirely on made-up situational elements. In this situation you are given a mother who needs an urgent heart transplant (I am no scientist, so I apologize if this it completely unrealistic). In this made-up world, scientists have created test-tube babies with no conscience, as in... they do not think for themselves nor do they want or dream. One of these beings can give the mother a heart. Is it just to preform the procedure? Is taking from a being with no thought the same as killing a chicken to eat and survive?

In a sense, I am asking what makes a human being. If it the organs in their body or something more? Does taking this being's heart count as murder? If the scientist saves the woman, are they a murderer or a savior?
LuckyR

Re: Would you kill a human with no conscience to save one with?

Post by LuckyR »

Tazo wrote: March 27th, 2021, 8:22 pm This is a very theoretical question based entirely on made-up situational elements. In this situation you are given a mother who needs an urgent heart transplant (I am no scientist, so I apologize if this it completely unrealistic). In this made-up world, scientists have created test-tube babies with no conscience, as in... they do not think for themselves nor do they want or dream. One of these beings can give the mother a heart. Is it just to preform the procedure? Is taking from a being with no thought the same as killing a chicken to eat and survive?

In a sense, I am asking what makes a human being. If it the organs in their body or something more? Does taking this being's heart count as murder? If the scientist saves the woman, are they a murderer or a savior?