Facebook Philosophy Groups

Chat about anything your heart desires here, just be civil. Factual or scientific questions about philosophy go here (e.g. "When was Socrates born?"), and so most homework help questions belong here. Note, posts in the off-topic section will not increase new members post counts. This includes the introductions and feedback sections.
shuzbot
New Trial Member

Facebook Philosophy Groups

Post by shuzbot » May 26th, 2018, 2:06 pm

Hi,

I am starting a dual Film and Philosophy degree in September and have spent the last couple of months trying to get some practical experience of philosophy by using Facebook groups. My experiences have been dreadful. Some groups confuse theology with philosophy, some are just full of airy, fluffy, feel-good posts, some are just full of trolls and I have just left one the better ones that I found cos a Moderator was trolling me. :cry:

As I have no real knowledge of how things are supposed to be, I wanted to ask if that is what philosophy is cos I am told that it isn't. Obviously, I don't assume that it is, but I have to ask, is Facebook completely useless for philosophy? Has anybody had similar experiences?

ThomasHobbes

Re: Facebook Philosophy Groups

Post by ThomasHobbes » May 27th, 2018, 7:34 am

Facebook is not suitable for a serious discussion about anything.
Hope you find it more useful here.

Name Is Unnecessary
New Trial Member

Post by Name Is Unnecessary » June 1st, 2018, 10:24 am

I wanted to reply, but ThomasHobbes said it all. I once tried to make my philosophy group in Facebook, but I was the only who was writing there.

LuckyR

Post by LuckyR » June 1st, 2018, 3:56 pm

ThomasHobbes wrote:
May 27th, 2018, 7:34 am
Facebook is not suitable for a serious discussion about anything.
Hope you find it more useful here.
The only thing I would add is: Particularly not suitable...
"As usual... it depends."

-1-

Post by -1- » June 2nd, 2018, 11:20 am

shuzbot wrote:
May 26th, 2018, 2:06 pm
Hi,