How are you coping with the pandemic?

Chat about anything your heart desires here, just be civil. Factual or scientific questions about philosophy go here (e.g. "When was Socrates born?"), and so most homework help questions belong here. Note, posts in the off-topic section will not increase new members post counts. This includes the introductions and feedback sections.
Fellowmater

How are you coping with the pandemic?

Post by Fellowmater »

Hey, just wanted to check in with everyone and see how they're coping with the coronavirus pandemic? How is it affecting you? Has anyone lost their jobs because of it? Does anyone think they've caught it?

Personally, I'm doing ok. We're still on lock-down in the Philippines and the school has started through online teaching so I'm now an extra teacher to my kids. My business was closing down anyway so I don't have additional work worries and because my degree is distance learning. My hubby works remotely anyway and his job is ok for now but I'm really aware of friends and family whose positions are a lot shakier. We had a trip to Japan booked but that's been canceled, but we're going to cancel it anyway due to this pandemic.

Anyway, I know this uncertainty isn't good for people's mental health and I just wanted to see how you're all doing.
Jack D Ripper

Re: How are you coping with the pandemic?

Post by Jack D Ripper »

I am very fortunate. It has not affected my income. I am happily married (I would hate to be dating now, especially if I were looking for a partner), and I don't really need any close contact with anyone else. I talk with some of my neighbors outside, maintaining social distance, so I am actually engaging with other people more than is necessary.

I live in a house that is bigger than it needs to be, so I don't feel confined by staying at home. However, I do go for walks most days, keeping social distance (I am not in an overly crowded area, so this is possible for me to do).